Planning / Zoning Commission

Planning and Zoning Commission 2019 Public Meeting Schedule

Duties and Responsibilities

The Planning and Zoning Commission reviews requests for rezonings, conditional uses, Planned Unit Developments (PUDs), and preliminary and final subdivision plats. The commission also makes recommendations for changes to the city's zoning ordinances to the mayor and Board of Aldermen.

The Planning and Zoning Commission is composed of a representative from each of the city's seven wards, appointed by the Board of Aldermen. Members serve six-year terms and a chairman and vice-chairman is elected annually among the members. The Planning and Zoning Commission meets regularly on the second Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in the City Hall Court Room.

Term Expires
Jason Camp
Ward I
June 30, 2021
Carl SmithWard IIJune 30, 2020
Lee HarrisWard IIIJune 30, 2025
Michael BrooksWard IVJune 30, 2020
Alexis GregoryWard V
June 30, 2023
Jeremiah DumasWard VIJune 30, 2023
Tommy Verdell, Jr.Ward VIIJune 30, 2023
City Support Staff: City Planner and Assistant City Planner